I’ve had some time for a few challenges lately…

Inspired by the lastest MME card sketch challenge and made with their fantastic Good Day Sunshine collection. The larger circle folds in so that the upright component can slide back down and into the card.

And it’s been a lot ot fun!  With a couple of design team commitments lately, I have been up to my eyeballs in deadlines, videos, photographs and blog posts.  So it has been so much fun to just have some time again to create and craft without too much pressure!  I thought I would share one of my fun projects with you today!

One of the nephews in my husband’s family turned 18 this last week, and I have to admit that I was a little bit stumped when trying to come up with some ideas for his card.  Then, I came across the latest card sketch challenge over at the My Mind’s Eye blog, and voila – I was set to go.  The sketch reminded me of a fun stand-alone pop up card that I tried recently, so I thought I would give that another go.  With my Good Day Sunshine paper in hand (this paper is fantastic for masculine cards) and the tutorial from SplitCoaststampers to help, this little creation took shape.

This is the cosed view - the way it would look straight out of the envelope.

Now, let me just say that I love this interactive card for a couple of reasons – the first is that, well, it’s interactive, and you all know I love any card that pops, pulls or twists.  The second reason is that this fun card shape is the perfect size for a small card envelope, so there is no fuss when I needed to find an envelope. I also think it is great that you can play around with the two different views of the card – closed and open.  It’s almost like planning the coordination of the inside and outside of a card, but with the need for more planning and consideration as the outside is part of the inside view and the inside is part of the outside view (how’s that for a brain teaser this fine Saturday eveining).

Recycled for toy packaging the girls received at Christmas, this twine seemed like the perfect texture to compliment the paper.

But I also have to admit that it challenged me quite a bit.  I love adding multiple layers and fibres to cards, even when I know it will cost me extra for postage. But you just can’t do it with this design – too may layers and the slide out component just simple won’t come out (or go back in for that matter). So the trick was to try to create the illusion of a lot of layers without doing too much overlapping.  So what do you think – does it look to plain without layers of paper, buttons and fibres?

7 thoughts on “I’ve had some time for a few challenges lately…

  1. Pingback: Free Standing Pop-up Card Tutorial | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

