Reminded of my old colouring book days!

Recently, some of my scrapping friends introduced my to some fantastic alcohol markers called Copics (I know, I know – where have I been??!!).  I loved the idea of markers that actually blended, but at a small fortune per marker, I figured it would be awhile before I could justify putting away my trusty watercolours and trying something new.  But Santa (aka – dear hubby) heard my wishes, and 24 happy little Copics found their way into my happy little scrappy stash!

Let’s just say that I am hooked. I have been having so much fun colouring images and playing with my new markers, that I already have a stack waiting to find their place on a happy little card!   So I thought I would share my first one with you today:

It's All Uphill! I just love this great little stamp from Kraftin' Kimmie

This card, that I am affectionately calling “It’s All Uphill” was created with a cute Kraftin’ Kimmie stamp called “Making Friends”, and some MME Good Day Sunshine Paper (yup- the irony of the paper choice is not lost on me).  Armed with Copic markers E18, E15, E13 and E34 for the squirrel, and YG13 and YR31 to help keep him warm, this little fella is out in the snow in style!

And if the stamp wasn’t cute enough, it actually inspired me to try a new card design.  I thought it would be great if I could create the illusion that he was actually moving that snowball across the paper.  So, out came the penny slider design, and this card was ready to get to work (I sense a tutorial coming on.  In the meantime, check out one here).  I happened to substitute the pennies for bingo chips (just to reduce the weight), and added two so he would be pretty stable as he slid across the card.  And the best part – as he slides, some movement markings and footprints are revealed (an idea that was courtesy of my hubby – the man buys me markers and gives me design ideas for cards…he’s a keeper).  What do you think?

Here he is on the other side of the card - this would be great with a pull tab too!

So, since I had some luck last week and actually won some amazing digi stamps from Pink Cat Studio last week on the Do You Stack Up Challenge Blog (yeah – more to colour), I thought I would enter this little card into this weeks challenge all about SNOW (Challenge #53)!  I would love to hear your thoughts! Thanks for coming by!

14 thoughts on “Reminded of my old colouring book days!

    • It was a great challenge and actually made me pull out a stamp that I thought might be put away for the year! I always think of snow and Christmas, so the challenge was a good one to make me think of other ways to use the stamp! Thanks for stopping by and commenting Denise!

  1. Really cute card! You obviously are an artist, not just a crafter like myself! To go from watercolors to the copic pens with such a beautiful outcome is truly inspiring…

    • Thank-you Juliet! I’m not sure if you have tried the Copics yet (or other alcohol based markers), but I have to admit that I am actually finding them easier than the watercolours…with my watercolours, I was actually doing most of the color mixing myself from the three primary colours, so to have the colours readily available is awesome! I am glad you are inspired!! That’s what this is all about! I appreciate the kind words and comments!

Leave a Reply

