So it’s been quiet here at the studio…

And I have an excuse!  My inlaws came into town for a visit, so I had to keep the scrappy space cleared off so we could actually eat meals at the table together (for those of you who don’t know, I am a kitchen table crafter – okay, maybe a full kitchen crafter).  And then came the little one’s Baptism – so the kitchen table still needed to stay clean.  And now – head colds!  All four of us at once!  I think my craftiness is stuffed up there somewhere in my sinuses – blah!

Actually, the story or the in-law visit reminded me of some fun news I have to share.  I have been sitting on a layout that I created over the summer because I received some fun news in September that it was being published! Canadian Scrapbooker sent me the good news, and now that they have published their Winter 2011/2012 edition, I can share the layout with all of you (especially those that might not be able to see the layout in the magazine).

A page created to help my in-laws celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary

I have to admit that I was a bit surprised the page was published – I often see so many details and embellishments on published pages, and this one is quite simple.  Some pretty paper, a bit of cardstock, some ribbon and ink and voila!

I love the dimension on the layered fussy cut paper

The page is created with12X12 K&Company Ancestry.com paper – two pages in fact.  I used one as the base for the page and fussy cut the gold detailing out on the second page to layer (here’s an interesting tip I learned – if you are layering on glittery paper, try using Glossy Accents as an adhesive – it’s so thick that it won’t soak into the glitter. YES! Another GA tip).  There is a hidden journaling tag behind the smaller picture that has a little message just for them.  And really, that’s it!  So if you happen to see the magazine, check out page 50!  You’ll see my very first published layout!

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “So it’s been quiet here at the studio…

  1. Love it!! Checked it out at the store today and I’m telling everyone who comes in to the store that I know the first timer on page 50!! Congrats again, the page is beautiful!

    • Oh Jasmine! Thanks for the comment and for checking out the layout in the magazine! It was fun to get a free copy of the magazine – I never splurge on them so this was a benefit of being published!

  2. What do I think? I think it is very cool! I love the cut out embellishments. This would be fun to steal for a card too! Congratulations!

  3. Congrats on being published and being the Fresh Face Designer at Echo Park. Your page is beautiful. I love fussy cutting too but I don’t think I’ve ever done quite this much on a single page. The effect is stunning. Look forward to seeing more of your work!

Leave a Reply

