Don’t look Mom!

In my last post, I shared a technique for creating stacked slider cards.  When I was making that card, my hubby mentioned that he thought the finished project looked like a cake, so I figured I would play with that idea a little bit more.

Today, I have a simple little post to share with you a couple of theme variations for that card. One of them is for my mom who is celebrating her birthday this week.  So Mom, if you are reading this – stop!  :)  For the rest of you – take a look at these:

This 3 level stacked slider includes candles that pull out for the top layer

In this version, I used the same technique for creating the stacked slider and then just added the finished stacked slider to an easel card so it would stand up!  The top layer that pulls out are just some candles that I think help to reveal the cake shape.

Here’s what it looks like closed…

For this stacked slider, the layers have been cut at a slight angle, and the top layer is a hippo die cut with some icing splashes

I also thought it would be pretty funny to make the cake look like something was jumping out when the recipient pulls up on the tab, so I cut out this happy little hippo from the Birthday Bash Cricut cartridge (at 2″) and added some icing “splashes” to the top layer of the slider.  The other two layers of the slider are cut at a slight angle to give the look of those “trendy” cakes that look like they should be falling over!  SURPRISE!  I am sure there is no one who would expect a hippo to jump out of their cake!

I had a lot of fun coming up with these ideas!  I think this stacked slider will be a “go to” card in the future!  So tell me, which one is your favourite?

6 thoughts on “Don’t look Mom!

  1. Pingback: A Stacked Slider Tutorial | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

  2. I have made this card before but need to look at the video to remember how to attach the pieces and allow them to slide in and out of the card and the video is saying its private and won’t let me view it. Help! Is there somewhere I can find the video to watch it?! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

