Paper Flower Tutorial – PART 2

Dandelion

The contrasting colours on this design really help to make the shape POP!

DANELIONS

This summer, I received my first ever flower from my daughter – a lovely little yellow Dandelion!  I have to admit that I used to think of these “flowers” as “weeds”, but when it was proudly delivered by a two-year old with a smile that can melt even the coldest heart, these petals were transformed in my mind forever!

So, for our second day of paper flower tutorials, I wanted to create a little something to commemorate that memory.  Capturing the round, “fringy” shape was the goal, and I love the effect created by the two contrasting colours in this design!  There are a fair number of simple steps involved, so I thought I would put together a printable PDF for you with all of the instructions.  This way, instead of printing pages of instructions from the blog, you’ll have a concise little 2 pager to keep in your book of ideas!  Get a copy of it here!

And if you are looking for even more ideas today, check out these pretty cardstock flowers over at Such a Pretty Mess.  I love the “brad-like” center that Gabrielle Pollacco creates for these pretty handmade petals.

Remember to come back tomorrow for PART 3 of the tutorial series!

7 thoughts on “Paper Flower Tutorial – PART 2

  1. I love these flowers! You are right about the contrasting colors. It really makes them pop! Great job Scrappy I’m glad I came over for a look. Mimi/miislucky from CC

  2. Hi Scrappy Canuck! I’m over visiting from the Crop Chocolate site and I wanted to tell you how much I love the flowers!! I just recently made my 1st flower and was so excited when it turned out!! I’ll let you know when I get a chance to try some of yours – they are beautiful!
    Juliet

    • Hi Juliet!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by! Congrats on your first flower…now that you’ve done one, the sky is the limit! They are addictive too! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

